Since the time we first started endorsing candidates for leadership positions with DC Bar Association, great strides have been made in diversity in the legal community, including greatly increased recruitment, treatment, and retention of LGBT legal professionals, and staff working for them. Discrimination has not, however, been eliminated, and the LGBT Bar Association of DC continues to look to the DC Bar to be a leader in the fight to end discrimination on any basis in the profession. Prior to 2012, we endorsed only one candidate for each position available. Since then, we have found that many, and now most, candidates enthusiastically endorse LGBT-supportive positions, and have and will continue to work to achieve our goals. We believe we should endorse all such candidates, as there is no basis for The LGBT Bar Association of DC to make its decisions based on factors other than support for the LGBT community and its interests. Based on the foregoing, The LGBT Bar Association of DC is pleased to endorse the following candidates in the 2016 DC Bar Association elections:


  • Guy Collier, McDermott Will & Emery LLP
  • Patrick McGlone, Ullico Inc.


  • Adam M. Chud, Goodwin Procter LLP


  • Shuchi Batra, U.S. General Services Administration
  • Megan Lacchini, Legal Services Corporation

Board of Governors (5 positions available):

  • Jessica E. Adler, Law Office of Jessica E. Adler
  • Erica J. Dominitz, Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP
  • Karen E. Evans, The Cochran Firm
  • Theodore A. Howard, Wiley Rein LLP
  • Annette K. Kwok, Venable LLP
  • Richard J. Marks, DLA Piper LLP
  • Christopher P. Zubowicz, U.S. Department of Justice*

ABA House of Delegates (3 seats open):

  • John (Jack) C. Keeney Jr., Association of Zoos and Aquariums
  • Laura A. Possessky, Gura & Possessky PLLC
  • Lucy L. Thomson, Livingston PLLC

DC Bar members have until May 20 to vote. Online voting is available at https://www.dcbar.org/vote.

*Mr. Zubowicz declined to submit a questionnaire due to conflict concerns, but strongly supports the mission of the LGBT Bar of DC.  The LGBT Bar Association of DC takes no position on his candidacy.